21 Year Old top secret Leaker : Smells to high heaven

So what is a lowly E3 doing in a SCIF with TOP SECRET material and no supervision? That is the first red flag.

Another red flag, as I noted in my previous piece, is the partial copy of the CIA Operations Center Intelligence Report. Both of us have had access to CIA systems available on the military servers and we have never seen the CIA Ops Center report on any of those systems. Never! How did this 21 year old kid get his hands on that?

I was chatting today with another friend. He’s of more recent vintage. I discovered he is a retired U.S. Air Force Colonel and that his last job with the Air Force was the inspection, certification and monitoring of Air Force SCIFs. Wow! Talk about serendipity. I asked him what he thought of the story the media is hard selling about the 21 year old with a trove of TS leaked documents? He told me, “It does not make sense.”.

He made the same points as my CIA buddy — how does a 21 year old E3 have this kind of access? My retired Colonel never saw it during his career. He told me, “At most, kids this age, might have a SECRET clearance.”

He also made the same observation that I raised in my previous piece on this incident — where the hell was this airman’s chain of command? A lowly E3 is not going to have unfettered access to a SCIF and will always have at least one senior commander (NCO or Officer) present to tell him what to do and to monitor his work.

Something is askew with the media story being presented to the World about the boy who posted the leak on the gamer chat board. The documents are not randomly selected. If the intent was to post classified information in order to impress a bunch of teenage gamers then why is the bulk of the material only about the war in Ukraine?

Finally, we are told, according to the Washington Post, that there are 300 documents. Really? Where are they? I have only been able to find roughly 18 documents. Have any of your seen the 100 pages that the media insists were posted to the web? That discrepancy alone raises another big red flag for me. Why was the Washington Post allowed to read/see 300 highly classified documents? The Post reporters do not hold security clearances. But it is okay for them to review those documents.

14 responses to “21 Year Old top secret Leaker : Smells to high heaven

  1. So what is a lowly E3 doing in a SCIF with TOP SECRET material and no supervision?

    At 19 years old I was an E3 where I had a Top Secret SCI/SBI clearance with a 5-skill level and I worked as the Crypto maintenance technician in the SCIF. There was also an E4 Buck Sargent Message Switch operator and a E2 Telephone switch operator. We all had TS SCI/SBI clearances because we were in communications. Two people had to be in the SCIF at all times and graveyard was the minimalist crew. I worked graveyard 0001-0930 3 days one week and 4 days the next. When one of the operators took midnight meal I would have to take over but rarely had to do anything. Most of what I did was load new Crypto keys into KYC’s so the operators cold keep the current encryption key and do inventories. My supervisor came into work at 0630 and we would go to breakfast. I would get an hour and a half of training one or two days a week with the other days at the gym. That was back in the 80’s.

    Like

    • So are you agreeing with the author or calling BS ?

      Like

    • In 1965, I held a TS/Crypto clearance when I was a 18/19 year old crypto comms maintenance tech E3.

      The years I was in Crypto schools and worked in the SCIF, I never once heard ANYONE refer to those facilities as a SCIF. When I first saw that term, I had to look up the acronym to see what it meant.

      When I reported for duty at my first permanent duty station after two crypto schools, the lead ET was a 1st Class PO, E6. We reported to a mustang LT who I never once saw outside of his office in the just less than two years I was there. None of the four of us in the ET shack knew what he did. After about a year, the lead PO was promoted to Warrant and shipped out. He was replaced with a CPO, E7.

      The two file cabinets in the ET shack in the SCIF that held all of the crypto equipment maintenance manuals and blue prints for the crypto comms layout in the SCIF were never locked. I’m not even sure anyone knew where the keys were. I didn’t.

      The door to the SCIF had a nine button analog switch activated lock four of which had to be pressed simultaneously to activate the relay that controlled the lock. Everyone in the comms unit knew the combo to the lock whether they worked in the SCIF or not. The combination was changed once in the approximately two years I was stationed there.

      When I look back on it, by today’s so called standards, that everyone is having a shit fit about in this situation, security was a joke in all those facilities. From my perspective, everyone questioning how and why a 21 year old airman had access to all of these supposed TS plans and information is totally misinformed about what really goes on in one of these places.

      The crux of this whole issue with the airman is that, once again, the lies of TPTB have been exposed. Unfortunately this kid will now pay heavily for his stupidity and the TPTB’s perfidy because they hate it when they’re caught.

      Like

      • Here is the the point Nemo,You were a patriot and would never expose the secrets of your country. I will say with certainty , that you would have given your life to defend it. That no longer exists. We have no country. We are no “People” anymore, war comes to our shores. All I can say is when it does, the enemies of America need to be driven into the sea

        Like

      • “the enemies of America need to be driven into the sea” including the Domestic ones, actually those first.

        Like

      • They are the only ones I am referring to

        Like

  2. I held a secret clearance. I was under 21. Can’t remember if I was e-3 or e-4. I held it for more than one reason. I did not have access to a SCIF or whatever that is called.

    Like

  3. He looks like just another faggot in uniform to me ! Hissss on the bullshit story.

    Like

  4. The Tactical Hermit

    Lies stacked upon Lies. Look at the WHY of all of it.
    It’s a timely Government Psy-Op to justify harsher online surveillance and the complete eradication of the First Amendment. In a year or less Discord (and Gab?) will be no more and those pesky “Right-Wing Extremist” who loves God and Guns will be the next “thing” the Govt. Gangsters use to scare the sheeple into submission.

    Like

  5. stinks, but for a dif reason. he had access b/c that was his duty position. what stinks besides the missing pages is the helo/swat arrest and the fact that .gov leaked that there was a leak to the press and toss in that brandon had a semi-trailer load of the same type doc and nobody is mentioning treason for him. equal justice, anybody?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yup, someone opened a can of 21 year old Surströmming. Stinks.
    Nothing about this story rings plausible. Question is whether the kid was following orders to create a distraction for the media/DC axis and will be protected after a show trial and a few months out of sight, or if he is just a clueless patsy and will take the fall, screaming and crying for mommy all the way.

    Like

  7. Depending on his/her job, an E-3 might have a TS/SCI clearance, but not total, unsupervised access. Two-person integrity is always required. In the short periods when one might step out, the remaining person still doesn’t have time to download and/or prints hundreds of documents without someone else noticing a pattern.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment