Hot Pork tenderloin sandwich

These are a Midwest specialty, served throughout farm country

Ingredients

4 Tbsp. Olive oil

Pork loin/tenderloin cut into slices 3/4″ to 1″ thick (6)

4- Eggs beaten for batter

2- cups Panko bread crumbs

Salt

Pepper

Garlic powder

Sliced onion

Dill pickle chip

Cheddar cheese

4- 1 Qt. zip lock bags

Preparation

*Heavily salt,pepper and garlic both sides of sliced pork

*Insert a slice into a zip lock bag and pound with a meat hammer until 1/4″ thick (Use the side with the small starred teeth” Replace baggie as needed. Pork will beat out about double in size

*Set pork to the side and beat eggs

*Lay out a layer of bread crumbs on a large cutting board

*Dip each pork slice into the beaten eggs and then push into the bread crumbs by hand.When one side is coated heavily flip over and coat the second side. Set aside, stacking if needed

*Preheat a pan to medium high and put in 2 Tbls. of the oil

*Fry 4 to 5 minutes checking for scorching then add rest of oil and flip (Time may be adjusted due to heat. Pork should lose pink but not be dry)

*Cook 4 minutes and then flip and put a slice of cheddar on until softened

*Serve on a deli hamburger roll topped with Mustard, Dill pickle chips and sliced onion

 

5 responses to “Hot Pork tenderloin sandwich

  1. Nice recipe-if I were making the pork medallions/cutlets,I would change the following step…
    “*Fry 4 to 5 minutes checking for scorching then add rest of oil and flip (Time may be adjusted due to heat. Pork should lose pink but not be dry)”

    The reason being that any time you add cold oil to a hot pan with food already cooking in it,the food tends to absorb more of the oil. I would remove the pork,add the oil,swirl it around,let it heat up for at least 60 seconds-then put the pork back in the pan.

    Not trying to be critical-just pointing out something I learned in my 22 years running restaurant/hotel/country club kitchens.
    Also,since all commercially produced pork is no longer fed “slop”,and the hogs are all grain fed, technically-it’s safe to eat rare/medium rare pork.

    • I cook in a large electric pan. What I don’t put in the recipe is the fact that I pour the oil between the cutlets and let it run under as it heats up.As to grain fed: What about Trichinosis? That is the only reason I lose the pink.

      • The trichini worm is transmitted by hogs eating meat. Since no commercial hog farms feed table scraps thetes little to no chance of hogs ingesting trichina worms.
        That’s the “science” part of it- I still don’t eat rare pork though. Saw guys cooking med rare pork loins for the culinary olympics- the Ohio team used my banquet kitchen at a hotel I was working at. They’ve been doing the med rare pork since late ’90’s.
        I know it’s next to impossible to get trichinosis from commercially produced pork-yet I still think of my mom and grandma cooking pork to beyond well done.

      • I come from an Illinois farm family…Trichnosis,rabies,tetanus, infections….Dad scared the Be-Jesus out of us

      • Yeah- I had mom,dad, grandma,grandpa,an uncle and a bunch of great uncles do the same. Usually during the harvest of a crop, cutting and baling hay, canning veggies,or slaughtering hogs.
        I got sent to someones farm every summer- sometimes multiple farms as ” punishment” because I was a smart ass kid and my mouth got me in fights and in trouble with dad.
        I didn’t see it as punishment though- I loved it.

Leave a Reply

