May have screwed myself

In May after months of stomach illness I went to a GI doctor with my wife

She had been treated previously and they had discovered something that the lab didn’t tell them

I couldn’t even bend over without vomiting and my stomach was hard and distended

Turns out she had this nasty little bug

“Campylobacteriosis is caused by Campylobacter bacteria (curved or spiral, motile, non–spore-forming, Gram-negative rods). The disease is usually caused by C. jejuni, a spiral and comma shaped bacterium normally found in cattle, swine, and birds, where it is nonpathogenic, but the illness can also be caused by C. coli (also found in cattle, swine, and birds), C. upsaliensis (found in cats and dogs) and C. lari (present in seabirds in particular).

One effect of campylobacteriosis is tissue injury in the gut. The sites of tissue injury include the jejunum, the ileum, and the colon. C jejuni appears to achieve this by invading and destroying epithelial cells.

C. jejuni can also cause a latent autoimmune effect on the nerves of the legs, which is usually seen several weeks after a surgical procedure of the abdomen. The effect is known as an acute idiopathic demyelinating polyneuropathy (AIDP), i.e. Guillain–Barré syndrome, in which one sees symptoms of ascending paralysis, dysaesthesias usually below the waist, and, in the later stages, respiratory failure.

Some strains of C jejuni produce a cholera-like enterotoxin, which is important in the watery diarrhea observed in infections. The organism produces diffuse, bloody, edematous, and exudative enteritis. In a small number of cases, the infection may be associated with hemolytic uremic syndrome and thrombotic thrombocytopenic purpura through a poorly understood mechanism.”

Apparently, by the symptoms so did I

He wasn’t even treating me, but gave me a course of antibiotics and ordered a bunch of blood work and poo samples

I had gone for broke in May and did not have 2 nickels to rub together

I was in the middle of fund raising for Shay and was probably the brokest I have ever been in my adult life

I myself did not have insurance and the testing was a ridiculous $790.00

I just didn’t have it and when the antibiotic cleared up the worst of the symptoms

I bailed on the testing and follow up

Now it seems that it may have come back to haunt me with a vengeance

I was at the GI doctor yesterday and it was looking a little less than stellar

I will find out in the next few weeks

Thankfully I now have insurance and money for the co pay, testing etc.

Anyway, I am off

Got work, make money

 

4 responses to “May have screwed myself

  1. Sorry to hear that problem has resurfaced…hope you’re feeling better soon!

  2. Get well soon! Don’t work too hard ;0

Leave a Reply

