A rather marked indifference to the Orlando shooting

This came over the transom from Wirecutter here: http://knuckledraggin.com/2016/06/53053/

“The shooter who killed at least 50 people at a gay nightclub in Orlando has been identified as Omar Mateen, law enforcement sources told The Post.

Mateen was a U.S. citizen with no apparent criminal history, was born to Afghan parents in New York in 1986 and was living in Port St. Lucie, Fla., according to multiple media reports.

Mateen had committed himself to ISIS before carrying out the bloodiest mass murder in US history at a gay nightclub in Orlando on Sunday, federal officials said.

Mateen “made a pledge of allegiance to ISIS,” California Rep. Adam Schiff, the top Democrat on the House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence, told CNN.

Schiff said the timing and target of the attack can’t be a coincidence.”

“Up past 50 now. At a gay nightclub. By an islamic terrorist – even the media and government is copping to that. During ramadan no less. Holy shit.

You know what? I’m having a hard time getting even interested in this, much less excited. I woke up about 6 this morning and passed the news channel saying something about “at least 20 killed at a gay nightclub in Orlando…..” and the only thought that went through my head as I continued on my bleary way to the coffee was “Huh. That’s a shitload of dead fuckers.”

And it’s been like that all day for me. I mean I’m catching bits and pieces of it from the next room – “largest massacre in US history… employed as a federal security guard… was already under suspicion… terrorism… weapons are too easily available…” and even I’m kinda dismayed that I just don’t care. I mean, this is some horrible shit. I should be outraged. Outraged? Hell, I ain’t even excited.

Largest massacre in US history? Not even close. Okay, this might be nitpicking here but Custer’s Last Stand was bigger than that. Just sayin. On THAT day in History the United States lost 274 souls – 268 soldiers and 6 indian scouts. Probably a couple of gay dudes in that bunch too.
How ’bout Waco? Seventy six men, women and children were massacred by the United States government. Y’all can pretty much tell how I feel about that, huh?
Then there’s the Waxhaw massacre, the Colfax massacre, the Mountain Meadows massacre, the…..
There’s more but I’m wanting to finish this and get back to my book so you’ll have to look them up yourself.

Terrorism. Over 50 dead. Damn… Yeah, that shit happens. all. the. time. in other countries. How can anybody be surprised when it happens here? What surprises me is that it’s taken as long as it has and it’s not more commonplace.
Can’t give the DHS credit for that – they had this dude under suspicion and he still did the deed. Nope, no credit for DHS, but there is a lot of blame on them.

And it was a gay nightclub. Big deal. It doesn’t make any difference to me as to what kind of nightclub it was. To be honest with you I was kinda hoping it was a gangsta rap joint. That might’ve gotten me excited.
Hey, I’m from California. I don’t care who you fuck as long as you don’t keep it in my face. Seriously. Do I believe in Gay Rights? No. I believe in Civil and Human rights for every citizen in the Nation.

Let’s not forget the guns being so easily available. Is that right? Can anybody out there tell me how much return fire there was from the patrons of the club? Uh-huh. There were probably a few gun owners there – unarmed gun owners.
Yeah, I know it’s illegal to carry a gun where alcohol is served. Guns in clubs are dangerous – last night proved that.
Our granddaughter’s school had a game day last month. They all competed in relays and games and barrel rolls, an all day event and all the parents and grandparents came to watch. Now this was on school grounds and I saw more men with pistols at that one place than I have altogether since I’ve been here. I’m not talking about guns printing against shirts, I was seeing revolver butts poking out of overall back pockets and bottoms of holsters hanging down below their shirts, that kind of shit. Those kids couldn’t have been any safer.
Me and Lisa and the grandkids went to the drive-in last weekend in Franklin and I started laughing as I was watching the pre-show crowd in the lot. Lisa asked what was so funny and I said “I was just imagining that headlines tomorrow – ‘Islamic Terrorists Attack Drive In Theater – 246 Patrons Return Fire.’”

Yes, this will be another gun control opportunity. Everything is. The government that brought you the Gunwalker scandal that resulted in the death of Brian Terry will uses this to try to disarm you. But that doesn’t surprise me either – it’s been that way my entire life. I cannot remember a single period in my lifetime when there wasn’t some sort of effort to strip me of my Civil Rights. I’m not outraged or even tripping on that – I’m resolved. I will not surrender my firearms.

Oh well, back to my book. I’m reading an excellent account of sniping in WWI in France. If you get a chance it’s called “Sniping in France” by Major H. Hessketh-Prichard. It’s a nice recollection of how and why sniping by the British in World War I evolved by the man that was responsible for the training.
Now that’s something to get excited about.”

One response to “A rather marked indifference to the Orlando shooting

  1. “and even I’m kinda dismayed that I just don’t care.”
    Read comment section from Bunkerville’s post yesterday and you will find quite a few others who echoed that very sentiment.

    Very, VERY good post Jay.

Leave a Reply

