Merry Christmas, you Grinch

Yesterday, I stopped at a dollar store after work to get a pack of smokes. When I went up to the counter there was an elderly couple standing in line already. The cashier was ringing them up and putting their goods into a bucket that they had just purchased. They had a bottle of dandruff shampoo, a pack of cheap razors and some soap.

When the cashier finished ringing it all up the total was $10.52. The gentleman expressed surprise that it came up to that much and stated that he didn’t think he had that much on him. He pulled out his wallet and started counting singles out. When it as all said and done, between he and his wife , they managed to come up with $9.00, a buck 52 short.

So, the old guy starts looking around for something to deep six from the purchase so he can afford it. I am looking at the cashier, a young girl about 19 and I can tell that it is killing her.  I didn’t have any cash on me at the time or I would have just ponied the $1.52 up.

Instead I looked at the cashier and told her to grab me my pack of smokes, ring their stuff up with mine and I would take the cash that was short. She caught on right away and started the transaction while the old folks were still searching their pockets for more change.

She kept telling them not to worry about it, but they were both stone deaf and kept asking her the various prices so they could pull something out. Regardless, she finishes the transaction, ringing my smokes up with it. At that point I walk around the couple and up to the keypad to swipe my bank card. When I move into position, the lady looks over at me says something.

The reason I say “Says something” is because I have a perforated eardrum in my left ear. It doesn’t always pick up sound right and I often have to translate what was said if some speaks to my left. There will be times when my wife says “Can you get a log out?” and I have to sit there for a minute until it makes sense….Yes! I can let the dog out!

So, what she said to me was “You know,  nah nah nah to be spected”. I sat there with it churning around in my brain while I swiped my card. The cashier quickly took the bucket, stuffed the goods back in and pushed it at them to take. She then handed me the smokes and cash and said thank you.

At that point I turned around and walked out of the store and got into my truck. As I was backing out of the parking space, the old couple hobbled out arm in arm. I noticed that the woman would not make eye contact with me as I started to pull out. At first I thought it was a little odd and then suddenly I finished translating what she said.

What she said was “You know, he needs to be respected”. Deaf as a rock, she had no idea what was going on. She thought that I was cutting in line in front of her husband because I was in a hurry to get a pack of smokes.

Merry Christmas, you Grinch

4 responses to “Merry Christmas, you Grinch

  1. She’s just deaf and old, deaf and old don’t make you a Grinch. God knows what you did and that’s all that matters.

  2. ha ha you know the phrase – no good deed goes unpunished!

Leave a Reply

